My Journey. Part 1

Hey everyone!!

It’s been way too long since my last post but I have lots to talk about so sit tight!! 😉 🙂

I feel ready now to talk to you guys about my past sporting experiences and how I have developed as a competitive athlete. I have had to put up with major disappointments and struggles but I have pulled through them and I am a better person for doing what I have done. I now am at a point in my life where I want to share my experiences with the world. There was a time when I looked back on my life and I would wish I had never started competitive swimming and just lived a ”normal” life like all my friends. But now I know it has made me a more resilient persona and I am thankful everyday that my parents made the decision for me to learn to swim. And if you are a parent and you are wondering if you want your children to learn how to swim or go into competitive swimming then I hope this inspires you to make the correct decision for them and you. Swimming is what made me different from all my friends. It made me unique. I really resented swimming after I stopped it but now I have learnt to apprecate the struggle I went through after I stopped swimming nd if this can help any other ex- swimmers then even better.
This will be a really difficult blog post for me to write as it is the first time I have opened up but I feel like I am ready. 

There are a lot of stories I could tell you, some funny, some sad, but I think I will start with the basic journey I went on when my parents signed me up for swimming. I was about 6 years old.

I hated swimming. Or more specifically, I hated lane ropes, under water lights etc. And by hate I mean despise. They terrified me! I didn’t understand why they were necessary to have in a pool. There was a picture of a dragon on the tiles of the pool and I could barely swim over it I was quivering with fear. It I overcame these fears or more importantly my parents signed me up to swimming lessons without my permission. (And yes my six-year-old self did vow never to forgive them for it but I did… eventually aka. The next day)

It clearly became apprentice that I was moving up the levels quicker than my friends but I made sure she came with me because I was so shy!! Anyway soon enough I had to leave her behind in the level below. I got my gold badge for a mile swim and felt on top of the world. But I had run out of levels so my parents suggested I join the club my sisters swan for. This was. Very small club and I progressed well and made best friends. Soon enough there weren’t enough sessions for me to progress further so around my 11 birthday I went for a trial swim for the major club in the city I live nearest to. On this trial session it was a big step up from the training I had been dong and I went off way to fast to only struggle later on. The coach picked up in this but also realised I was a good few years younger than everyone in the squad and that I had potential. I got into the squad, I struggled at first but when it came easier and I thrived under the training and did a lot of PB’s. I moved up the squads from the fourth best to the second best. I got to a regional and national level. I was happy.

As I grew older training became a burden, I got ill with pneumonia. I stopped swimming a t the age of 15 and my coach didn’t really care (there were many reasons why I stopped). Everyone was shocked that I  stopped as I was quite young and a good swimmer with potential to do well. Even the other coaches told me to take a few months of then get back into it but the damage had been done already. I had decided I would never go back to swimming. After I left the head coach told my coach he had not looked after me properly. But it was all too late.

I have such good memories of swimming. We went on a training camp to Majorca. It was amazing. Everyone got on really well and there was a lot of food and banter between everyone which was great. I will never forget these memories. Or doing 12 swimming events over two days and winning them all. Or the moment when I got my time to go one to represent nationally. That race I was so far ahead I got confused and thought I was doing the wrong stroke because I just relaxed and let what happen just happen so it felt kind of easy.

I trained 7-9 times a week for two hours each session. At this point I was concerned about stopping swimming because I knew it was the right decision but I dint want to put weight on when I stopped. I did.

Sorry fort he really long blog post. There will be a part 2 and part 3 to my story. I will get back to my usual posts soon but I feel like I can not move on with my blog until I have spoken about my experience in I sport and have told you guys my story. I hope you enjoyed!!! You know what to do if you have a my questions (comment below))). I feel like this blog post was quite heavy but it wioll get more positive particularly in part three where I talk about how swimming so often for so many years has improved my life so much. I have a inner sense of achievement from the medals and trphies and certficates which I have worked hard to get over the years. 

After or during part two and three my next blogposts will be on these new clean eating bars I love and a food tracking app. Subscribe on my webpage and please like or comment below!!!

Thanks for reading,

Running Nad🏃🏽🏃🏽🏃🏽

Stay strong and carry on 

Leave a Reply

